Statutory Holidays 2009 in Canada

Calendar of 2009 Canadian statutory holidays.

New Year's Day is on a Thursday in 2009 so if you want to make it a 4 day long weekend then you may have to use a day-off on January 2nd. Also, Boxing Day is a Saturday so make sure to talk to your employer about it to avoid any suprises around Christmas.

Just for the record, the list contains unofficial holidays as well, which are not stat holidays in 2009 but everybody wants to know what day they fall on anyway.

Holiday Date in 2009 BC AB SK MB ON QC NB NS PE NL YT NT NU
New Year's Day January 1, Thursday
Islander Day February 9, 2009                        
Family Day February 16, Monday                    
Valentine's Day February 14, Saturday Not an official holiday
St. Patrick's Day March 17, Tuesday Not an official holiday
Good Friday April 10, Friday  
Easter Monday April 13, Monday                        
Mother's Day May 10, Sunday Not an official holiday
Victoria Day May 18, Monday        
Father's Day June 21, Sunday Not an official holiday
St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24, Wednesday                        
Canada Day July 1, Wednesday
Civic Holiday August 3 , Monday                
Labour Day September 7, Monday
Thanksgiving October 12, Monday        
Halloween October 31, Saturday Not an official holiday
Remembrance Day November 11, Wednesday        
Christmas Day December 25, Friday
Boxing Day December 26, Saturday                        
Feedback & ideas