2018 Statutory Holidays in Canada

The next holiday is Labour Day in 17 days.

On this page you can find information about 2018 Canadian holidays and when they are celebrated.

Canada Day in 2018 will be on July 2 because July 1 falls on a Sunday so the statutory holiday is moved forward one day to Monday, July 2. This hopefully ensures that there is no confusion around time off - like last year when it was on Saturday. We're interested in your comments about how your employer handles time off for Canada day in 2018. Send or read comments on the bottom of the Canada Day holiday page.

Easter in 2018 is April 1, Sunday. Easter is an important Christian religious holiday and the second most lucrative commercial holiday after Christmas. Read more about Easter traditions, games and origins

Remembrance Day is still not a national statutory holiday in 2018. Do you think it should be? Post your thoughts about this contentious issue on the Remembrance Day page.

Christmas Day in 2018 is on Tuesday and Boxing Day is on Wednesday. This makes it easy to plan for your holidays. Will you take Monday off? Most people will. In the past few years Christmas was on the weekend and that was the source of heated discussions concerning vacation days.

Download the 2018 holiday calendar in a PDF format or view it as a printer-friendly page.


2018 Canadian holiday calendar


Holiday Date in 2018 Observance
New Year's Day January 1, Monday National
Islander Day February 19, Monday PEI
Louis Riel Day Feb 19, Monday MB
Heritage Day February 19, Monday NS
Family Day February 19, Monday (Feb 12 in BC) BC, AB, SK, ON
Valentine's Day February 14, Wednesday Not a stat holiday
Leap Day Not a leap year -
St. Patrick's Day March 17, Saturday Not a stat holiday
Good Friday March 30, Friday National except QC
Easter Monday April 2, Monday QC
Mother's Day May 13, Sunday Not a stat holiday
Victoria Day May 21, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Father's Day June 17, Sunday Not a holiday
Aboriginal Day June 21, Thursday NWT
St. Jean Baptiste Day June 24, Sunday QC
Canada Day July 1, Sunday National
Civic Holiday August 6, Monday AB, BC, SK, ON, NB, NU
Labour Day September 3, Monday National
Thanksgiving October 8, Monday National except NB, NS, NL
Halloween October 31, Wednesday Not a holiday
Remembrance Day November 11, Sunday National except MB, ON, QC, NS
Christmas Day December 25, Tuesday National
Boxing Day December 26, Wednesday ON

When does school start in 2018?

Most schools in 2018 start on September 4, the day after Labour Day.

Is 2018 a leap year?

2018 is not a leap year. The next leap year will be 2020.

When does daylight saving time start in 2018?

Daylight saving time in 2018 starts on Sunday, March 11 and ends on Sunday, November 4. In the spring move clocks forward one hour and in the fall move them back one hour. (Spring forward, fall back.)

Holiday poll

Tell us how you would change Canada's holiday system an what changes you would like to see to our convoluted stat holiday rules.

Share your holiday story, idea or comments

Send in your comments, tips and ideas about holidays in Canada for 2018

Post your comments

Comments
Posted by Adrian Ward:

2018 is boring. No Olympics, no special celebrations like last year's 150, no solar eclipse, no election, no free national Park entry, no leap year, seems boring and plain.

Anonymous:

Between New Years and Easter there is only family day. I always feel burnt out that time of the year but don't want to use vacation days because it's too cold and not much to do.

Posted by Admin:

The 2018 page is now live.

Feedback & ideas